The Key 27 October 2014

Our new Club website is launched!

 Just type rotarygungahlin.com into your browser and a click will take you there.  It’s a new look and somewhat more interactive when it’s fully up and running.  A note has been pasted on the previous website that it not being updated any longer.

A former member, Geoff Windsor, currently in India, has done all the backroom work to bring us to this point (and has likely saved us 1000s of $) and now our job is to use it to show ourselves off to the (cyber) world.  A good site will attract ‘hits’ from new visitors and will encourage them to revisit to find out more – about Gungahlin Rotary and about Rotary in general.

On Monday night, 20th October, we will have a Club Assembly/Board meeting, to be held in the dining room of the Soccer Club.

____________________________________________________________________

Important Dates for your Diary

Register now for the Combined Districts’ Conference:

“Our Youth, Our Future” 14-16 November at the National Convention Centre, Canberra City.  Districts 9710 and 9675 are bringing together over 100 Rotary Clubs for this Conference.
Cost: $120 for Conference including lunch, morning & afternoon tea.
Dinner Friday night $60pp with Guest Speaker Brendan Nelson, plus dancing & entertainment by local band Big Idea.
Dinner Saturday night $65pp.  Be entertained by The Lisa Keen Trio and a cabaret performance by The Stilettos.
There are great Guest Speakers on Saturday and Sunday too, so check their details on the Conference Program and register for the Conference and dinners at: http://www.rotaryd9710.org.au/2014-district-conference/registration.html

Roster for Meeting Toasts:

Meeting National Toast Rotary Toast  
27 Oct
3 Nov Kiri Terry
10 Nov Bob Holly
17 Nov Emma Liz
24 Nov Sandra Kiri
1 Dec Holly Ian
8 Dec John Sandra
15 Dec Terry John

2015 Magnet Mart BBQ Dates: put them in your 2015 diaries NOW

Date Coordinator Volunteers
Sat 10th Jan
Sun 15th Feb
Sat 21st March
Sun 26th April
Sat 23rd May
Sun 28th June


CLUB DIARY – Check the latest events and update personal diaries

October Vocational Service Month.  Speakers Program: Liz
Wed 22nd Oct Fund-raising dinner for Polio organised by the Rotary Club of Queanbeyan
Sat 25th Oct Well Station BBQ  – Members have accepted the opportunity to provide a sausage sizzle in the morning.  (Volunteers: Sandra (coordinator), Liz, Jacqui, Bob)
Mon 27th Oct We are not meeting at the Soccer Club but instead enjoying a social night in Kambah: 7-9.45pm Trivia Night organised by the Rotary Club of Canberra Weston Creek (flyer attached). $10pp & funds to Youth projects. Dinner also available from 5.30pm. Queries to Liz Friend.  Car pooling to be discussed – early departure for those having dinner & later departure for those not having dinner.
November Rotary Foundation Month.  Speakers Program: Emma
Mon 3rd Nov Vocational Night: Guest: Sue Kemp, Mustard Seed Pantry, Venue Soccer Club Boardroom.
Sun 9th Nov Trash & Treasure – (Ian plus one volunteer needed)
Mon 10th Nov Meeting: Guest Speaker, Mark Scarborough, MyGungahlin website
Fr-Su 14-16th District Conference Canberra Convention Centre
Mon 17th Nov Annual Meeting, Dining Room
Sun 23rd Nov BBQ Magnet Mart (Ian & more volunteers needed)
Mon 24th Nov Meeting: TBA
Sun 30th Nov Rotary Table @ Gungahlin Village Shops (Volunteers:  Ian and more needed)
December Family Month.  Speakers Program: Sandra
Mon 1st Dec Meeting: Christmas party
Sun 7th T&T (volunteers needed)
Mon 8th Dec Meeting: TBA
Mon 15th Dec Meeting: Club Assembly/Board Meeting, Dining Room
Mon 22nd Dec Meeting: Cancelled

 

Advertisements