The Key 17 November 2014

Next Monday 10 November we meet in the Soccer Club’s dining room for our Annual Meeting followed by a Board Meeting
_________________________________________________________________
_
Last Monday night we welcomed our guest speaker Mark Scarborough, founder and manager of My Gungahlin Website and Facebook page.  Mark has been highly successful in providing an effective way for Gungahlin community groups and businesses to promote their presence within the region.  My Gungahlin assists in developing strong networks and linkages between residents, workers, businesses and community groups.  It also the place to find local news, articles of interest, local events and listing information for sporting, community & support groups, as well as businesses and schools.
(L:R: Member Terry, Member Kiri, Mark Scarborough & Member Holly)IMG_1232

Events that are of community interest, such as open days, festivals and fetes, are listed for free in the calendar of events.  Businesses can subscribe to My Gungahlin for a relatively small fee to promote their business and also take the opportunity to access marketing and branding services, such as website design, graphic design and printing.

Mark provided the following interesting statistics for Gungahlin from the 2011 Census:

  • Population 47,303
  • Males 23,346 (49.4%)
  • Female 23,957 (50.6%)
  • Median age 31
  • Children 0-14 – 24.6% of the population, people over 65 – 4.7% of the population.
  • Of people over 15 years old 54.8% were married & 9.1% divorced or separated.
  • 6% people in Gungahlin were born in Australia. 47.1% of people both parents were born in Australia, 40% both parents were born overseas.
  • 1% reported their religion as Catholic, 24.7% reported as no religion.
  • English was reported as the only language spoken at home in 68.9% of homes, 31.4% reported two or more languages were spoken at home.
  • Private dwellings 17,648
  • Average per household 2.9
  • Median weekly household income $2,176
  • Median monthly mortgage repayments $2,300
  • Median weekly rent $400
  • Average motor vehicles per household 1.8

    For further information on My Gungahlin, mygungahlin.com.au and https://www.facebook.com/MyGungahlin


We also welcomed
Alison Cantwell, a second year student in Nursing at UC, and active Rotaractor and our club’s nominee for RYLA (Rotary Youth Leadership Awards).  Other guests included Gail, Robyn, Anna & Shaun, Clare and her son, Tim.  Members were also delighted to welcome home Member Holly, back from her time in the US.  Holly quickly put her name down on the club’s duty roster.

Alison and President Ian.IMG_1229

Mark presenting to very interested members and their guests

IMG_0336

 

Roster for Meeting Toasts:

Meeting National Toast Rotary Toast
17 Nov Emma Liz
24 Nov Sandra Kiri
1 Dec Holly Ian
8 Dec John Sandra
15 Dec Terry John

2015 Magnet Mart BBQ Dates (please note in your diaries & volunteer asap)

Date Coordinator Volunteers
Sat 10th Jan
Sun 15th Feb
Sat 21st March
Sun 26th April
Sat 23rd May
Sun 28th June

 


Club Diary – Check the latest events and update personal diaries

November Rotary Foundation Month.  Speakers Program: Emma
Fr-Su 14-16th District Conference Canberra Convention Centre
Mon 17th Nov Annual Meeting, Dining Room, followed by Board Meeting
Sun 23rd Nov BBQ Magnet Mart (morning: Ian, Clare, Bob, Terry, afternoon: Anna, Shaun, John)
Mon 24th Nov Meeting: Guest Speaker:  AG Lynne Duckham, will speak on international service.  Boardroom
Sun 30th Nov Rotary Table @ Gungahlin Village Shops (Volunteers: Ian, Holly & Sandra)
December Family Month.  Speakers Program: Sandra
Mon 1st Dec 6.30pm Christmas party at Terry & Christine’s home, Nicholls. BYO
Sun 7th T&T (volunteers needed)
Mon 8th Dec Meeting: TBA
Mon 15th Dec Meeting: Club Assembly/Board Meeting, Dining Room
Mon 22nd Dec Meeting: Cancelled
January Rotary Awareness Month Speakers Program: Sandra
4th Jan T&T
Mon 5th Jan Meeting: TBA  & NYSF A Session begins
Thu 8 Jan NYSF Dinner
Sat 10th Jan BBQ Magnet Mart
Sun 11th Jan Home Hosting
Mon 12th Jan Meeting: TBA
Sat 17th NYSF A ends
Mon 19th Jan Meeting TBA & NYSF B Session begins
Thur 22th Jan NYSF Dinner
Sun 25th Home Hosting
Mon 26th Jan Meeting cancelled: holiday
Sat 31st Jan NYSF B ends

 

Advertisements